Our Community

Located just south of the southern tip of Lake Michigan, at the crossroads of U.S. Hwy 30 and 31, is Marshall County in northern Indiana. Marshall County is home to almost 50,000 residents living in a variety settings from the more urban areas within the City of Plymouth, to the smaller quaint towns of Bremen, Bourbon, Argos, Culver, and LaPaz, to the rural countryside. 
The downtown areas boast historic store fronts, independently owned shops, and local restaurants featuring traditional favorites to cutting edge cuisine. Residents and visitors alike enjoy seven area golf courses and water sports on Lake Maxinkuckee, which is the second largest lake in Indiana with over ten miles of shoreline. Other lakes such as Lake of the Wood, Koontz Lake, and seventeen smaller lakes provide additional opportunities for water sports and fishing. Marshall County is less than two hours from Chicago, and Lake Michigan beaches are just 50 miles away.  
Marshall County is a thriving community which boasts not only an exceptionally high quality of life but where business growth and new business are welcomed with open arms. Manufacturing and agriculture have fueled Marshall County’s economy for generations. Employers have access to an experienced workforce and broad markets totaling 12 million people within 100 miles of our county seat.  Marshall County is rich in affordable land and accessible infrastructure.
City of Plymouth
The City of Plymouth is both the county seat and the largest community in the county with just over 10,000 people. Due to its central location, it acts as the governmental, business, and social services center of the county. The downtown area is lined with locally owned shops and restaurants establishing the small town charm of the quintessential Midwestern city. Each Labor Day weekend the city is host to the Marshall County Blueberry Festival, the largest community festival in the Midwest, drawing in a half million people over four days. Plymouth was designated a Main Street Community in 2017.
The Town of Bremen - the second largest town in the county - is a community of just under 5,000 people located in the northeastern part of the county. The Town is home to the renown Oktoberfest celebration held every fall as well as a diverse and prosperous economic base. Bremen was designated a Main Street Community in 2016.    
The Town of Bourbon is located along U.S. Hwy 30 in east central Marshall County and is home to roughly 1,800 people. Bourbon was incorporated in 1865, nine years after the arrival of the railroad. The railroad played a vital role in the town's population and economic growth throughout the mid 1800's. Following the lumber boom, Bourbon became primarily known for agriculture due to its rich soils and abundant livestock. 
The Town of Argos, with just under 2,000 people, is located in south central Marshall County along U.S. Hwy 31. Argos is known for its small town charm and community pride. The town is the location of the annual Marshall County 4-H Fair, and these fairgrounds host numerous activities and events year round.  
The Town of Culver has a population of around 1,300 people. It is located in the southwest part of the county at the northern edge of Lake Maxinkuckee, the second largest natural lake in Indiana. Culver is a popular summer tourist destination and is often referred to as the "Cape Cod of the Midwest." Immediately adjacent to the town is Culver Academies, one of the most renowned college preparatory boarding schools in the United States. Culver has received some notable State designations, including being named a Main Street Community and a Stellar Community in 2017. 
The Town of LaPaz - with less than 600 people - is the smallest incorporated area in the county. It is located in the north central quadrant of the county along U.S. Hwy 31 north of U.S. Hwy 6.  
Click here for a Marshall County Google based map.